Winner’s Awards

The Winner’s Award is given to individuals or entities who have made significant contributions to our community.

Awarded May 2016
Len StevensLen Stevens was the CEO of The Chamber from 2002-2016. Under his leadership The Chamber saw consistent growth in its membership while providing more value to all members. Len has served on numerous education committees, supporting education as a means to an end for poverty and crime and leads to economic stability. Prior to the Chamber, Len coached basketball at the high school and university levels for 34 years, including the University of Nevada, Reno.





Awarded March 2015Hal Plummer
Hal Plummer worked in local real estate for 30 years as agent, broker and company owner of Coldwell Banker Plummer and Associates. He was involved in the community at large, serving many organizations for the betterment of Reno/Sparks and the State of Nevada, including serving as WIN President in 1986.





Awarded August 2014 Phil Rose
Phil Rose spent more than 20 years in broadcast in the Reno area before establishing Phil Rose Advertising in 1989 (currently The Glenn Group). At the same time, he was President and founder of Kelley-Rose, Inc, publishing the Reno-Tahoe Visitor. For 60 years, he was an active leader to many community service organizations.





Awarded August 2013
Krys-BartKrys Bart served as Director for the Reno Tahoe Airport Authority from 1998 until 2013. She was named 2007 Airport Director of the Year by Airport Revenue News Magazine Bart was named One of the Seven Most Respected CEOs in Nevada by Nevada Business Journal.




Cary GrothCary Groth served as director of athletics for UNR from 2004 to 2012. During this time, the Wolf Pack enjoyed an era of program-wide success with all of Nevada’s teams participating in postseason play. She increased the graduation success rate for UNR student-athletes from it’s all-time high of 78% and increased revenue in nearly every category.


Katy SimonKaty Simon Holland retired in 2013 after serving in local government for more than 25 years, most recently as the Washoe County Manager for 15 years. During her administration, Washoe County was named the #1 Digital County in the US (midsize), was awarded the Cashman Good Government award three times by the Nevada Taxpayers Association, was three times named the #1 Local Government in the US for Waste Reduction among other awards.


Awarded November 2011 – Frank Osborn, Good Samaritan who helped a woman and her two-year old child when they had an accident on Mt. Rose Highway.

Awarded June 2011 – Jason Craig & Grant Korgan, Spinal Cord Injury Survivors

Awarded August 2009 – Paul Dugan, Superintendent, Washoe County School District

Awarded May 2008 – Kendyl Depoali, Principal, Sparks High School (awarded posthumously)

Awarded November 2007 – Rand Tanner & Chuck Fulkerson, Veteran’s Guest House

Awarded September 2007 – Phillip Ringle, President of TMCC

Awarded June 2007 – Paul Tholl, Tholl Fence, Inc.

Awarded January 2007 – Washoe County Literacy Program

Awarded October 2006 – Andrew Kelly, Principal, Hug High School

Awarded August 2006 – Mark Fox, Head Coach, UNR Men’s Basketball Team

Awarded June 2006 – Ron Smith

Awarded March 2006 – Dave Bianchi

Awarded January 2006 – Trip Barthell, Truckee Meadows Tomorrow

Awarded July 2005 – Phil and Jennifer Satre

Awarded February 2005 – Reno/Sparks Rotary Clubs

Awarded January 2005 – Roy Walker, W.E.S. Construction, Nevada Chapter AGC

Awarded November 2004 – Fritsi Ericson

Awarded April 2004 – Trent Johnson, Head Coach, UNR Men’s Basketball Team

Awarded March 2004 – Don Richter, Secret Witness Program

Awarded February 2004 – Dr. James Hager, Washoe County School District

Awarded November 2003 – Jim Litchfield, Truckee River Whitewater Recreation Project

Awarded September 2003 – Lynn Fritz

Awarded March 2003 – Denise Hedrick, The Education Collaborative

Awarded January 2003 – John Stearns

Awarded August 2002 – Nevada Women’s Fund

Awarded July 2002 – Girl Who Saved Child’s Life By Jumping In Front of Car

Awarded February 2002 – Western Nevada Supply

Awarded November 2001 – Norm Dianda

September 2001 – Lincoln Piazza

August 2001 – Hands On Northern Nevada

Awarded June 2001 – T.J. Tutay

Awarded May 2001 – Nevada Museum of Art

Awarded April 2001 – Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)

Awarded March 2001 – Deputy Ed Walters, The Inmate Assistance Program

Leave a Reply