WIN History: Lecture Series Dinner

From 1987 through 2016, WIN brought provocative personalities to northern Nevada as part of the WIN Lecture Series Dinner. Attendees included hundreds of community leaders from business, education and government.

Today, this event has evolved into the ‘WINner, WINner, Breakfast for Dinner’, offering our community a format similar to our Breakfast Meeting in format and price point, with greater networking opportunities and an excellent speaker.

Event sponsors for the Lecture Series Dinner included AT&T, AT&T Wireless Services, Barrick Gold, Holland and Hart Law Firm, Nevada State Bank, Nevada Bell, Q&D Construction, Sierra Pacific Power Company (NV Energy), and Wells Fargo Bank.

Listed below are featured speakers from these events, from most recent to the first event held in 1987.

Sugar Ray Leonard, boxing legend ‘POWER: Prepare, Overcome and Win Every Round’

John Quiñones, Emmy Award winning journalist, host of “What Would You Do?”

Billy Beane, subject of the movie “Moneyball”

Peter Sagal, host of National Public Radio’s “Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me!”

Mary Robinson, the first female President of Ireland

Ron Clark, America’s educator

Blake Mycoskie, entrepreneur and philanthropist, founder of TOMS Shoes

Henry Winkler, actor, director and author

Bob Woodward, journalist

Jack Canfield, performance coach

Ross Shaffer, customer service specialist

David Gergen, political adviser

Dave Barry, columnist, humorist

Al Franken, satirist

Larry King, talk-show host

Bill Russell, basketball legend

Richard Teerlink, CEO & CFO of Harley-Davidson Motorcycles

Mark Victor Hansen, co-author of the Chicken Soup for the Soul book series

Robert Fulghum, best-selling author

Elizabeth Dole, President of the American Red Cross

Mario Cuomo, former New York Governor

Andrea Mitchell, NBC News correspondent

Pierre Salinger, journalist

James Carville, political strategist

Christopher Matthews, political columnist

Harvey Mackay, best-selling author

William Brock, former Labor Secretary

T. Boone Pickens, shareholder advocate

Jane Bryant Quinn, economist

Buck Rogers, IBM executive